109th Annual ECA Convention

Building Bridges

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

April 25-29, 2018


Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

Submission deadline: October 15, 2017

Pittsburgh, also known as the city of bridges, will be home to the 2018 Eastern Communication Association Convention. Pittsburgh has a unique topography, being situated at the confluence of the Allegheny and Monongahela, which forms the Ohio River. When a city is located on water, bridges span the horizon.

The bridges of Pittsburgh play an important role in the city's infrastructure. Without the 446 bridges interlacing the city, Pittsburgh would be a region of isolated communities. Just as the bridges in the city connect communities, communication has the opportunity to build bridges within and outside of our discipline, creating countless opportunities for research, teaching, and service.

The 2018 theme, Building Bridges, invites the exploration of cross-disciplinary research and encourages finding possibilities for connecting our research to theory and practice, creating new approaches to teaching, and collaborating with communities for service and civic engagement opportunities. How can we build bridges within our discipline? How do we communicate and engage others when the bridges are broken? What are ways in which communication creates opportunities for new connections and for building new bridges? What can we gain by fostering communication among our many communities in order to promote further connection?

We’re looking forward to hearing your thoughts, seeing you present your research, and engaging with you in the city of Pittsburgh. Together, we can build a wonderful bridge that connects us to our constituents and communities.

At the convention we will have traditional panels, large group meetings, and our traditional receptions. We will continue the “Going Green” theme by offering both a printed version and a downloadable app. of the program. I will continue to work on finding ways to engage the community at the convention.


Please include the updated Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2018 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Philadelphia. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2018 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of:

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 15, 2018


ECA 2018 CONVENTION PLANNERS CONTACT INFORMATION

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
                      Leeanne M. Bell McManus
                         Stevenson University
                       ECA2018PA@gmail.com
                              (724) 448-2263

Second Vice President
Janie Harden Fritz
Duquesne University
harden@duq.edu    

Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Susan Mancino
Duquesne University
mancinos@duq.edu

Community Relations Coordinator
Kasey Hudak
Penn State University Lehigh Valley
kch17@psu.edu

Director of Sponsorship

Mary C. Toale
SUNY Oswego
Mary.Toale@oswego.edu

Graduate Poster Session
Andrew Spieldenner
Hofstra University
ecagradpost2018@gmail.com

Program Designer/Mobile Coordinator
Chip Rouse
Stevenson University
chiprouse@stevenson.edu

Short Course Director

Tim Brown
West Chester University
tbrown@wcupa.edu

Technology Coordinator

Douglas C. Strahler
Slippery Rock University
douglas.strahler@sru.edu

Student Coordinator
Stephanie Verni
Stevenson University
sverni@stevenson.edu

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference
Robert Sidelinger                  Brandi Frisby
Oakland University               University of Kentucky
undergraduateconferenceECA18@gmail.com

 


                                       ECA 2018 INTEREST GROUP PLANNERS

 

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi
gibbonmm@delhi.edu

Intercultural Communication
Dorreen Jowi
Bloomsburg University
djowi@bloomu.edu

Applied Communication
Alexander Lancaster
Weber State University
alancaster@weber.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Meredith Marko Harrigan
SUNY Geneseo
harrigan@geneseo.edu

Argumentation and Forensics
Jade Olson
University of Maryland
jade.olson@gmail.com 

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
hobsonkd@jmu.edu

Communication Administration
Andrew Herman
SUNY-Geneseo
Hermana@geneseo.edu 

Kenneth Burke
Brian Gilchrist
Mount St. Mary’s University
gilchrist@msmary.edu

Communication Law & Ethics
Martin Wallenstein
CUNY-John Jay
mwallenstein@jjay.cuny.edu 

Media Communication

Nicholas Scott Smith
Wayne State University
nicholas.scott.smith@wayne.edu

Communication and Technology
Rodney A. Carveth
Morgan State University
rod.carveth@morgan.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization) 
James C. Morrison
Boston College
james.morrison@bc.edu

Communication Traits
Cristina González Alcalá
Summit Education Initiative
cgonzalezalcala@seisummit.org

Nonverbal Communication
Zach Carr
SUNY Buffalo
zmcarr@buffalo.edu 

Community College
Michael J. Stutz
Three Rivers Community College
mstutz@trcc.commnet.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Inci Ozum Sayrak
Duquesne University
sayraki@duq.edu

GIFTS (Great Ideas for Teaching Students)
Kerry Byrnes-Loinette
Collin College
kloinette@collin.edu

Political Communication
Kristin English
Georgia College and State University
kristin.english@gcsu.edu

Health Communication
Hannah Ball
Chapman University
hball@chapman.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Valerie Schrader
Penn State Schuylkill
vls146@psu.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Lance Strate
Fordham University
strate@fordham.edu

Theory and Methodology
Craig Maier
Duquesne University
maier551@duq.edu

Instructional Communication
Daniel Mansson
Penn State Hazelton
dhm14@psu.edu

Voices of Diversity
Shaun Anderson
Loyola Marymount University
shaun.anderson@lmu.edu

Instructional Communication
Daniel Mansson
Penn State Hazelton
dhm14@psu.edu