Meeting Minutes Eastern Communication Association Organizational Communication Interest Group April 13, 2019 8:00-9:15 a.m. Blackstone Room, Omni Hotel, Providence, RI

Attendance: Emma Caldwell, Jamel Catoe, Heath Howard, Joseph Lybarger, Robin Smith Mathis, Scott Myers, Michael Sollitto, Ashleigh Swain

Joseph Lybarger (University of Tennessee) called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m. Approval of the minutes from the 2018 business meeting was not possible due to the minutes being unavailable.

Joseph solicited nominations for the position of Secretary. He stated that the position is a twoyear commitment that begins at the 2020 convention in Baltimore and ends at the 2021 convention in Boston. Heath Howard (West Virginia University) nominated himself to serve as Secretary. Michael Sollitto (Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi) moved and Emma Caldwell (West Virginia University) seconded to close nominations. Joseph made a motion to accept Heath's self-nomination. The motion passed unanimously.

Joseph stated an Interest Group representative to the ECA Executive Council was needed. The term begins Sunday, April 14, 2019 and ends in 2021. Michael nominated himself to serve as the ECA Executive Council representative. Joseph made a motion to accept Michael's self-nomination. The motion passed unanimously.

Joseph then passed the gavel to Michael, who provided a brief report on the status of the Interest Group. As of March 2019, the Interest Group had 117 members, making it the fifth largest Interest Group. He also provided some information about the 2020 convention in Baltimore, which will be held April 1-5. A Call for Papers will be disseminated on May 1; the submission deadline will be October 15. Members then brainstormed several ideas for panels, which included sessions on teaching both undergraduate and graduate courses in organizational communication, a meet and greet session, scholars' office hours, research methods, and a state of the organizational communication discipline. Ashleigh Swain (West Virginia University) suggested implementing a booklet/passport/signature activity as a way to boost attendance.

Joseph provided a report from the Nominating Committee. Three candidates have been announced thus far for ECA Vice President (i.e., Pam Lannutti, Annette Madlock Gatison, and Tracey Quigley Holden), two candidates have been announced for ECA representative to the National Communication Association (NCA) Legislative Assembly (i.e., Nicole Blau), and two candidates have been announced for ECA representative to the NCA Nominating Committee (i.e., Sarah Heiss, Sean Horan).

Joseph provided a report from the Executive Council. The Association has almost a million dollars in total assets. Consequently, the Executive Council allocated \$15,000.00 to assist with undergraduate student attendance at the convention and \$5,000.00 to assist with community

college employee attendance at the convention. The Executive Council also proposed a secession plan (including term limits) for membership on the Executive Council; a vote on this plan will occur at the 2019 NCA convention.

Robin Smith Mathis (Mercer University) nominated herself to serve as Vice Chair. Heath moved and Ashleigh seconded to close nominations. Michael made a motion to accept Robin's self-nomination. The motion passed unanimously.

Michael inquired about other issues that needed discussion. Jamel Catoe (University of Connecticut) inquired about outreach for students.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 a.m.

Submitted by Scott A. Myers, 2019 Secretary